3rd Grade Geography

Discussion in 'History & Geography' started by Hal Pollner, May 5, 2018.

1. Hal Pollner

Hal Pollner Veteran Member
    Registered

When I was a kid in grade school in Wheeling, W. Va., we had to know all 48 States and their Capitols.

We also had spelling bees.

I don't think grade school students are as well taught today...do you?

Hal

2. Ken Anderson

Ken Anderson Senior Staff
    Staff Member Senior Staff Greeter Task Force Registered

Overall, I don't think so. It depends on the school and the teacher, I suppose. I've met some kids who have learned a lot more than I had at their ages, but the credit there could well go to the kid, and to the parents. Overall, I think most of the school budget is spent on things that have little or nothing to do with teaching, and far too much of the time is spent on social and political indoctrination.

Chris Ladewig likes this.
  3. Carol Knott

Carol Knott Very Well-Known Member
    Registered

As a retired teacher, I can promise you there was very little geography in our elementary (3rd grade) curriculum, sad to say. Our social studies book was so cheesy I could hardly stand it. All about "communities." And mostly communities in Texas. However, my husband traveled a lot for his job, so I tried to work in something about whatever state or country he was in at the time. I had a world map in the room with postcards from all over the world around it. But with all the emphasis on testing, and getting the little darlings to pass the test, geography, and pretty much everything else that wasn't reading or math, was given short shrift. I taught 3rd grade when I retired, but I also taught 5th, 4th, and early on (shudder) high school.

Von Jones likes this.
  4. Ken Anderson