Assisted Living: What It's Like From a Resident's Perspective

Discussion in 'Reading & Writing' started by Carol Netzer, May 26, 2015.

1. Carol Netzer

Carol Netzer Veteran Member
    Registered

I'm an 88 year-old resident of an assisted living facility in New York City. Before I made the decision to leave my own home, I did a lot of research on what it would be like to live in such a facility from a resident's perspective. I found nothing.

Having now experienced two very different residences, I've written a book on the subject: Assisted Living: An Insider's View. I also maintain a blog on the subject, which I invite you to visit.

http://www.assistedlivingresident.net

In addition to my regular posts, you'll also find excerpts from my book and links to vendors.

Thanks for your attention.
    Carol Netzer

2. Ken Anderson

Ken Anderson Senior Staff
    Staff Member Senior Staff Greeter Task Force Registered

Welcome to the forum. As a discussion forum, we're all about conversation here. If someone here has written a book, a link to where it can be bought is fine, and when they have a web site, they can add a link to it in their signature but I think I'm speaking for most of the members here when I say that we'd rather not have a lot of promotional stuff. I know that I'd like to keep the forum as a place where people fifty and older can talk about things that interest them, and not so much about selling stuff.

John Donovan likes this.
  3. Carol Netzer

Carol Netzer Veteran Member
    Registered

Thanks for the heads-up. My apologies to the group.
    CN

4. Corie Henson

Corie Henson Veteran Member
    Registered

@Carol Netzer it's admirable of you to write that book. Pardon me for citing your age because I really like people who are productive whether they are old or young. I am not a writer and I have no ambition that's why I salute those people who spend time to write for the benefit of readers.