First Credit Card?

Discussion in 'Money & Finances' started by Cody Fousnaugh, Dec 31, 2019.

1. Cody Fousnaugh

Cody Fousnaugh Supreme Member
    Registered

For many years I couldn't get a credit card, because I wasn't stable enough and/or had a good enough salary. After wife and I bought our house here in Colorado, which was my first home buy and I was 52, pre-approved credit cards started rolling in to us. I was totally shocked, because I had never owned a credit card.

The last credit card I've got is Amazon, and, due to our lower income, was very surprised that I was approved for it.

How old were you when you got your first one?

Bess Barber likes this.
  2. Beth Gallagher

Beth Gallagher Supreme Member
    Registered

Surprisingly, I was 18. I worked part-time at Sears when I graduated from high school and was starting college. I needed tires for my car and went to the credit department in the store where I worked. I was able to get a very small credit account limit and bought the tires one at a time. :D My dad was so proud of me for buying my own tires!

3. Nancy Hart

Nancy Hart Veteran Member
    Registered

I must have been in my late 30's back in the early 80's. Had a good steady job, but Discover still wouldn't approve me the first time. Made it on the second try.

A few years later, the credit card companies started sending invitations in the mail (to everyone, not just me).

Bess Barber likes this.
  4. Lois Winters

Lois Winters Veteran Member
    Registered

My first credit card was Discover.

Bess Barber likes this.
  5. Bill Boggs

Bill Boggs Supreme Member
    Registered

My first card was Discover. I paid off Discover and closed out my account after about three years.
    Then I got an American Express for Travel Expenses with I was a purchasing agent. Then I got a
    Master Card for business travel and personal use. It's hard to handle travel expenses with out a