Identifying Birds - Bird Songs And Birdcalls

Discussion in 'Pets & Critters' started by Diane Lane, Mar 18, 2016.

1. Diane Lane

Diane Lane Veteran Member
    Registered

I love listening to the birdcalls outside my window and when I'm walking through the woods, but I am just learning to distinguish them from one another. I'm going to post some informational sources to help myself and others identify the sounds they hear and birds they see, but I'd also love to know which birds y'all have near you, and feel free to post pictures or video clips if you have any.

Here's a Mnemonic of bird calls/songs, and I think I just identified one from it, although I still have to verify by finding a picture of the bird.

The bird I thought I heard just a bit ago was an American Coot, and based on what I've just read and the area in which I live, that could be the case, although I don't recall seeing one nearby.

Here's another site that is very useful in identifying birds, both by sight and also by sound. It's The Cornell Lab of Ornithology. I follow them on social media, and also receive emails with interesting information from them.

This site allows you to identify birds by sound once you've identified the species.

If you like to use apps, there are several that can be used to help with bird identification.

Here are some helpful apps:

http://www.engadget.com/2014/10/06/twigle-birds-a-free-app-for-identifying-birds-by-look-and-sound/

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.luminousapps.northamericanbirdssounds&hl=en

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.audubon.mobile.android&hl=en

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=edu.cornell.birds.ebird&hl=en

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.luminousapps.ukbirdssounds&hl=en

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=org.birdbrook.worldbirdguide&hl=en

https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/merlin-bird-id-by-cornell/id773457673?mt=8