The 19th-century Novel

Discussion in 'Reading & Writing' started by Tom Locke, Sep 27, 2015.

1. Tom Locke

Tom Locke Veteran Member
    Registered

I am an unabashed fan of the 19th-century novel. I love reading them, I studied them at university and I still read more novels from that century than any other.

Charles Dickens, George Eliot, Jane Austen, Emile Zola, Anthony Trollope, Fyodor Dostoevsky, Joseph Conrad, William Thackeray, Nikolai Gogol, Emile Zola, HG Wells, Kate Chopin, Gustave Flaubert, Thomas Hardy...and so many more. Was this the golden age of literature? I think so.

There are so many classic novels that it's impossible for me to pick a favourite,

Indulge me!

Brittany Houser likes this.
  2. Mal Campbell

Mal Campbell Supreme Member
    Registered

"Jane Eyre" was the first "classic" that I read. I was probably 12 or so, and found it so incredibly romantic - it was very emotional. After that I read "Little Women" and fell in love with that period of literature. I loved the Bronte sisters, some Dickens, Jane Austen, etc.

A few years ago I read two books that were pretty good - "Confessions of Jane Austen Addict" and "Rude Awakenings of a Jane Austen Addict" by Laurie Rigler. The first is about a 21st century woman who wakes up in Regency England, the other about a Regency period woman who wakes up in 21st century LA. You realize they have switched bodies. They were both quite entertaining.

Now that you've brought up the classics, I'll have to reread some of them - it's been a long time since I read something from the period. I'll have to see if the library has them in large print!

Tom Locke likes this.
  3. Tom Locke

Tom Locke Veteran Member
    Registered

Jame Eyre was one of the twelve novels I studied on my literature course - I liked Jane, because she had a bit of attitude about her. For what it's worth, these were the novels I had to read on my course:

Northanger Abbey - Jane Austen
    Jane Eyre - Charlotte Bronte