When Did You First Get Internet, And

Discussion in 'Gadgets & Tech Talk' started by Arlene Richards, Mar 8, 2016.

1. Arlene Richards

Arlene Richards Veteran Member
    Registered

what was the first thing you did? (I mean at home, not work)

For me, it was early 1998. I'd been using an old computer at home and I decided to upgrade. A tech-savvy buddy took me shopping and got me set up.

I first sent some emails, then I went to AOL chat rooms! Woo boy, remember those? (This was just as the Monica Lewinsky scandal was heating up.) A whole new world! :D Life as I knew it would never be the same.

Last edited: Mar 8, 2016
  2. Ken Anderson

Ken Anderson Senior Staff
    Staff Member Senior Staff Greeter Task Force Registered

I was connected to ARPANET in the mid 1980s, before the Internet was born. At that time, it had expanded from a system that was available only to the military to one that was made available to college systems. I was an instructor for Texas Southmost College at that time, and TSC was affiliated with the University of Texas at Brownsville, which had access to ARPANET. There was no graphical interface then. When you logged onto the system, you were faced with a C:/ prompt, and you had to navigate the system from there.

At around the same time, I ran a computer Bulletin Board System. The BBS was another precursor of the Internet, something that would be more recognizable to Internet users than ARPANET was, as there were graphics, although rudimentary ANSI graphics. I ran my BBS from the early to mid-1980s through 1991, I think.

In the Rio Grande Valley, public access to the Internet was first made available through AOL on dial-up. Next came Delphi. This was in the early 1990s.

3. Arlene Richards

Registered

I remember those AOL disks we got in the mail. Seemed to be endless. For a long time I had dial-up. I remember that sound when I logged on. This was before most of us had cell phones, and when I was online no one could reach me.