A Moment To Remember

Discussion in 'Other Reminiscences' started by Ken Anderson, Oct 2, 2023.

1. Ken Anderson

Ken Anderson Senior Staff
    Staff Member Senior Staff Greeter Task Force Registered

We've all had moments that, for whatever reason, were memorable in such a way that we still can't help but smile, laugh, or cry when we think of that moment in our lives. Many of these might involve our children, or when we were children ourselves, but they can be anything, and sometimes the momentousness is lost in the retelling. That's what this thread is for.

I have one... well, I have several, but I'll start with one that I thought back on tonight. As many of you know, I was a paramedic for about twenty years. I worked on the Texas-Mexico border while I was in my first paid position as a paramedic. I was the EMS director of a volunteer ambulance service, so I didn't always know who I would get as a crew when a call came in. Unlike most paid services, which would have a crew of two, we sometimes had three or four, and others might show up on the scene to help.

When we were dispatched to a call at about 1:00 a.m., the dispatcher, who was also an EMT and a friend of mine, sounded like she was half asleep when she dispatched us. After the call, which I responded to at the scene but didn't go along for the transport since we had a good crew to handle that, I went into the dispatch office to tease her about her dispatch.

I explained that if she insisted on getting us up at one o'clock in the morning, we didn't want to think that she was going to go back to sleep after getting us up. "You need to have some pep in your voice," I told her.