Anyone Else Here A Hiker/backpacker?powerwalker

Discussion in 'Sports & Recreation' started by William Lofton, Jun 28, 2024 at 3:23 PM.

1. William Lofton

Registered

I started walking 4 years ago because I built a trail beside the creek that runs the length of my property and decided to do a half marathon(13.1miles)...wow... I am a course photographer at many marathons in the Southeast and Mid-Atlantic states, and after shooting them for years, I figured why not. I was a pack a day smoker...It was an undertaking. I looked at the times of the participants in other marathons, that had finished in the middle of the pack, and that's where I should be. Under 4 hours. So I started walking and at least every third day. I was out there, no matter the weather. I started in May and the marathon happened in September.. Did it! That all brings me to hiking. I have a goal and I am close. I want to hike the Appalachian trail where it starts in Georgia at Springer Mountain and hike( in sections) to the North Carolina line. That is 72ish miles. Got about 52 already done. So... anybody out there? that hikes, backpacks, or powerwalk. BTW I am 68 years young...

Don Alaska likes this.
  2. Ken Anderson

Ken Anderson Senior Staff
    Staff Member Senior Staff Greeter Task Force Registered

The Appalachian Trail ends near Millinocket, Maine, where I live. I haven't done much hiking this year, but I do enjoy hiking and camping in the woods and have done quite a bit of that. However, I don't do power walking or marathons, and I get bored hiking along the road or on graded hiking trails. Besides, if you try hiking along the road here, people will keep stopping to see if you need a ride and then look at you like you're some weirdo when you tell them you're going for a walk.