Credit Card Surcharge

Discussion in 'Money & Finances' started by Tony Page, Jun 10, 2022.

1. Tony Page

Tony Page Veteran Member
    Registered

I've noticed more and more stores in my area are adding the 4% surcharge to your bill for use of a credit card. If you're using cash you will not be charge this surcharge, as a matter of fact some stores are given 10% off if you use cash.
    I'm a little confused I checked online and from what I found store owners are being charged 1 1/2 to 3 1/2 % by the credit card companies why are they allowed to charge above their cost?
    Why aren't these charges just added to the "cost of doing business".

2. Beth Gallagher

Beth Gallagher Supreme Member
    Registered

I haven't seen that in our area. I do remember some gas stations used to have different pricing for cash purchases but even that seems to have gone by the wayside.

Tony Page likes this.
  3. Tony Page

Tony Page Veteran Member
    Registered

I'm not an expert on this my understanding is the state has allowed stores to charge up to 4% because credit card companies have raised their prices.
    Okay so they have a surcharge but it should be only what they are paying to the credit card companies.

Beth Gallagher likes this.
  4. Thomas Stillhere

Thomas Stillhere Very Well-Known Member
    Registered

Debit cards are protected from frivolous charges by federal law., passed on the same bill that allows a CREDIT card to be billed for like a minimum purchase. Debit card is like cash and it is abused by people who either do not know the law or just like to steal your money. So for anyone to charge 4 percent on your DEBIT card is the same as stealing. Nuff said ;0)

Tony Page likes this.
  5. John Brunner

John Brunner Senior Staff
    Staff Member Senior Staff Greeter Task Force Registered

At one point, I thought that charging different prices violated the MasterCard merchant agreement (meaning giving a Cash Discount punished cardholders.)