Death Of An Old Friend

Discussion in 'People I Have Known' started by Ken Anderson, Aug 10, 2020.

1. Ken Anderson

Ken Anderson Senior Staff
    Staff Member Senior Staff Greeter Task Force Registered

As we enter or are well into our senior years, probably most of us have experienced the death of an old friend.

Other than those who were killed in the line of duty, when I was a paramedic, this is the first that I am aware of that I have lost someone my own age or younger. Given that I haven't lived within a thousand miles of my hometown since I was in my early 20s, I have probably lost friends whose death I was never aware of, however.

Today, I learned of the death of an old friend, one who I was very close to at one time but whom I haven't spoken to in almost fifty years.

During my junior and senior years in high school, my best friends were Bob Filler and Don Salewski, and we all attended different schools in different towns. I went to Stephenson High School, Don was in Menominee High School, and Bob attended Marinette Catholic Central High School.

Somehow, we ended up together, and I don't remember how that came about; friends of friends, probably, because I knew quite a few people in Menominee and Marinette from Boy Scouts, although neither Bob nor Don was in Boy Scouts.

Because Bob had a job as a DJ at a radio station, he was able to get an apartment in Marinette long before the rest of us were ready to go out on our own, so that became a place to hang out. At that time, DJs could play whatever they wanted to play during their show. As a consequence, he was frequently receiving promotional albums. The records and albums sent to radio stations were of a better quality vinyl than the ones you could buy in the store because they were made to be played over and over, and he was able to keep the ones that were sent to him at the station, so he had everything imaginable, including a lot of stuff that we'd never heard of.