How Many People, If Any, Start Their Own Plants?

Discussion in 'Crops & Gardens' started by Don Alaska, Apr 19, 2022.

1. Don Alaska

Don Alaska Supreme Member
    Task Force Registered

It may have been asked before, but I couldn't find it in recent posts, but how many folks here start their own plants from seeds (or cuttings), whether veggies or flowers? If you do, have you noticed that germination rates seem to be low in recent years? I have been hearing of lowered germination since the pandemic started, and have experienced it myself this year. Even seeds ordered from reputable places and purchased for this year's season seem to have much lower germination rates than I have ever seen and I have been doing this for 60 years.

On a side note, a man I correspond with in Nebraska wrote that almost none of the corn crop in his state has been planted yet, and normally half the crop has been planted by mid-April. It bodes ill for this fall.

2. Dwight Ward

Dwight Ward Veteran Member
    Registered

I've noticed I have several starter pots where I have even overseeded veggies or flowers and nothing comes up - not even stray grass.

Marie Mallery and Don Alaska like this.
  3. Shirley Martin

Shirley Martin Supreme Member
    Registered

It's early for planting most crops here but they have started planting corn on the big farms down east. Just looking at the fields from the highway, it looks like they have a 100% germination rate.

Don Alaska likes this.
  4. Kate Ellery

Kate Ellery Supreme Member
    Registered

I grow onions / sliver beet / tomatoes / capsicums/ egg plant / pumpkin / zucchini from seeds I buy from cheap as chips, seedlings are to unreliable cause I was getting way to many that were not as labeled …….especially tomatoes / capsicums

Dwight Ward and Don Alaska like this.
  5. Yvonne Smith

Yvonne Smith Senior Staff
    Staff Member Senior Staff Greeter Task Force Registered