Kefir

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by Terry Page, Oct 25, 2015.

1. Terry Page

Terry Page Supreme Member
    Registered

I was recently introduced to this health drink by my daughter, you may already heard of it, as it dates back thousands of years ;) It was first used in the Caucasus and is widely available in Russia to this day.
    I have been making and drinking it for almost two months now and feel great benefit from it, though how much is real or psychological is difficult to say. I certainly feel very healthy now and my moods have lifted, together with making alcohol and meat distasteful, so I have become teetotal and vegetarian, though these are not claims attributed to Kefir in particular.
    You simply add some Kefir grains to milk and leave at room temperature for 12 to 24 hours and strain it and drink. It tastes similar to yoghurt with a slightly sour creamy texture, you can buy the grains online at Amazon and eBay, though you may know someone who is making it and can maybe get some grains from them as my daughter did.

Benefits of Kefir http://www.kefir.net/kefir-benefits/

Australian Kefir guru http://users.sa.chariot.net.au/~dna/kefirpage.html

Video of making Kefir https://goo.gl/UuOAqi

[​IMG]

2. Chrissy Cross

Chrissy Cross Supreme Member
    Registered

Since you and I are good buddies, we've discussed this and I am trying it now. I bought mine at Trader Joe's.

Im not too fond of the taste because I dont care for milk or any milky or yogurt type food or drink but I chugged a cup yesterday and this morning...trying to work my way up to 2 cups a day at least to get the benefits.

Im doing this because I was impressed with Terry's benefits from it...if after awhile I see none for me...I will quit!:)

Ina I. Wonder and Terry Page like this.
  3. Yvonne Smith

Yvonne Smith Senior Staff
    Staff Member Senior Staff Greeter Task Force Registered

@Terry Page ! !