Lemon Curd Bars

Discussion in 'Recipes' started by John Brunner, Jan 9, 2021.

1. John Brunner

John Brunner Senior Staff
    Staff Member Senior Staff Greeter Task Force Registered

I got my regular email from AllRecipes on Thursday with links to a bunch of recipes, one of which was these Lemon Curd Bars. By Friday they were out of the oven and on the table. I decided to make homemade Lemon Curd, since I've never done it before and I don't really do custards.

Lemon Curd Bars With Coconut

1 cup unsalted butter
    (variations from comments include browning the butter or using 50% butter/50% coconut oil)
    2 cups all-purpose flour
    1/2 cup white sugar
    1/2 teaspoon baking powder
    1 (10 ounce) jar lemon curd (≃ 15 TB ≃ 1 cup) or one recipe homemade (see below)
    2/3 cup flaked unsweetened coconut
    1/2 cup toasted and chopped almonds

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).

In a large mixing bowl cream the butter. Add the flour, sugar and baking powder. Mix until the mixture forms coarse crumbs.

Pat 2/3 of the mixture into the bottom of one 9x13 inch generously greased baking pan. Bake at 375 degrees F (190 degrees C) for 10 minutes until set. Remove and let cool slightly.

Spread the lemon curd over the baked layer. To the remaining 1/3 of crumb mixture add the coconut and the almonds. Sprinkle over the top of the lemon curd, press lightly into the curd.

Lower oven temperature to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).

Bake bars for 25 minutes or until lightly browned.

Lemon Curd

3/4 cup fresh lemon juice
    1 tablespoon grated lemon zest
    3/4 cup sugar
    3 eggs
    1/2 cup unsalted butter, cubed (some recipes only used 1/4 cup)

In a 2 quart saucepan, combine all ingredients.

Cook over low heat until thick enough to hold marks from whisk, and first bubble appears on surface, about 6 minutes. Make sure to temper the eggs to prevent them curdling.

These are very good. They freeze well.