Pollination Or The Lack Thereof

Discussion in 'Crops & Gardens' started by Dwight Ward, Jul 16, 2021.

1. Dwight Ward

Dwight Ward Veteran Member
    Registered

I have seven tomato plants and only six tomatoes going. I have lots of bush beans and only a dozen pods. I have only one corn plant showing a cob. It's a little early to tell about my melons, cantaloupe and peppers.

I've seen no honeybees at all this year. A few bumble bees, some small white butterflies and an even smaller black moth or butterfly seem to be the only ones pollinating anything.

Is this happening all over the country? Worldwide? Beyond my own personal displeasure couldn't this be a global catastrophe? I'm a novice gardener and I don't know. Any thoughts anyone?

Marie Mallery likes this.
  2. Ken Anderson

Ken Anderson Senior Staff
    Staff Member Senior Staff Greeter Task Force Registered

Not being an expert on bees, I can't say which type we have but I have seen a whole lot of bees on the flowers in my front garden. Oddly, they were paying a great deal of attention to the peonies two weeks after the flowers disintegrated. There is supposedly a worldwide reduction in the number of bees pollinating crops. Some attribute the shortage to GMO crops and pesticides, while those who see global warming in everything have blamed climate change.

If I were to follow the money, I would consider who might benefit from a reduction in the number of wild bees. If we couldn't grow our own crops, wouldn't we be even more beholden to big industry?

3. Dwight Ward

Registered

Honeybee
    [​IMG]

Bumblebee
    [​IMG]

The pics don't show side by side comparison but the bumblebee is 3 to 5 times larger than the honeybee ( my guess ). And Ken, I don't disagree that nefarious forces may be afoot. My normal level of paranoia is high anyway and this is an overload.