Should The 2nd Amendment Apply To People Who Have Been Treated For Mental Health Problems?

Discussion in 'Philosophy & Psychology' started by Ken Anderson, Feb 8, 2023.

1. Ken Anderson

Ken Anderson Senior Staff
    Staff Member Senior Staff Greeter Task Force Registered

This video, by a Civil Rights Attorney in West Virginia, I think, discusses a SCOTUS opinion of about a year ago, so I am not offering it here as news, although it would be news to anyone who wasn't already aware of it.

The video discusses a number of issues, but it's not necessary to view it to participate in this question. Mostly, I am posting it because it suggests a problem that has been bothering me for quite some time now.

While I was a paramedic instructor, I was also certified as a PTSD counselor, which is something that can be helpful for people dealing with various types of trauma, not just war veterans.

A whole lot of people were not willing to see a mental health professional for PTSD, depression, or anything else because, while they might acknowledge that counseling might be of some help to them, they did not consider themselves to be mentally ill, and seeing a mental health professional, even for the treatment of PTSD or depression, could, under some circumstances, lead to a denial of a person's 2nd Amendment protections.

There are other reasons as well, I am sure, but, while we've come a long way toward reducing the stigma of various mental health problems, because of the gun-banning lobby, any possible reason is used to deny someone the right to own or possess a firearm.

The reason I became a PTSD counselor was that, although I was certified as a counselor, it wasn't a mental health position, so I was not required to keep a list or make reports on people who sought help. Of course, the help that I could provide was considerably less than they might be able to get from a mental health professional.