World Health Organization To Declare Aspartame A Carcinogenic

Discussion in 'Food & Drinks' started by John Brunner, Jun 29, 2023.

1. John Brunner

John Brunner Senior Staff
    Staff Member Senior Staff Greeter Task Force Registered

The World Health Organization (WHO) is reportedly going to deem aspartame "possibly carcinogenic" next month (July 14, 2023.)

The WHO's cancer research branch--the International Agency for Research on Cancer--is to make the announcement, with the WHO’s committee on additives--the Joint WHO Food and Agriculture Organization’s Expert Committee on Food Additives--also reviewing the additive.

The FDA declared this artificial sweetener to be safe in 1981.

Link

Don Alaska likes this.
  2. Shirley Martin

Shirley Martin Supreme Member
    Registered

I've been using aspartame for many, many years. I use 3 packs a day in my 3 cups of coffee. People all around me have been having cancer, some of them dying from it. I have not developed cancer so far. I quit using saccharine because," It causes cancer." Now they say, "Oops, it doesn't cause cancer, after all."

If they keep on, they will say drinking water causes cancer. Unless we buy designer bottled water.

And then they said eggs cause cholesterol, don't eat them. I went for years without eating eggs. Or only eating egg whites. Just look at all the money I wasted. Then, 'Oops, we were wrong. It's safe to eat eggs."

3. John Brunner

I get what you're saying. Quite some time ago, a scientist lobbied Congress to take pennies out of circulation because when he ground them up and fed them to lab rats, the rats died; therefore, pennies kill you. You get his point.

Don Alaska and Yvonne Smith like this.
  4. Shirley Martin

Registered

But don't we need copper in our diets?:)

Yvonne Smith and John Brunner like this.
  5. John Brunner

'speically if you supplement zinc.

Mary Stetler likes this.
  6. Shirley Martin

Registered

Weren't pennies made from zinc during WWII?