Bombs And Bonetti Machines

Discussion in 'Energy & Fuel' started by Hal Pollner, Aug 2, 2018.

1. Hal Pollner

Hal Pollner Veteran Member
    Registered

@Cody...read this:

Prior to my retirement 20 years ago, I had spent 36 years in the Aerospace business, working as a Lab Test Engineer, developing and testing Navigational, Communicatons, and Weapons Control systems for McDonnell-Douglas and Boeing.

This work required that I maintain a Secret Clearance and a First Class FCC Radiotelephone License.

I've been an Amateur Astronomer for the past 55 years and I recently purchased my 31st Telescope since leaving Military Service in 1962.

The photo shows my home Electronics Lab where I had been engaged in calibrating the Tracking Rate of my 8" Celestron Schmidt-Cassegrain Telescope.

Another picture shows a self-designed and built 300,000-volt Electrostatic Generator,or "Lightning Machine".

Another picture shows me with a 17.5" Newtonian Reflecting Telescope on a Dobsonian base.

The last picture shows the internal components of the "Little Boy" fission bomb that destroyed Hiroshima on August 6, 1945. I can tell you the function of every component in that weapon because I've studied the physics of Nuclear Weapons.

So you see, I'm not a technological dummy...it's just that I think Cellular telephones for the general public are silly and unnecessary.

Hal
    254.JPG 243.JPG 241.JPG little-boy-bomb.jpg

Last edited: Aug 2, 2018
    Bobby Cole and Ken Anderson like this.
  2. Frank Sanoica

Frank Sanoica Supreme Member
    Registered

@Hal Pollner Nice woodwork on the Wimshurst Machine. I believe some such static machines were called "Helmholtz", you may be able to add to that, or correct me. As a teen trying to blow myself up, my laboratory supplyhouse listed static machines for school lab use, for sale. Some outfit was making them somewhere.
    Frank

PS: I agree, cellphones suck.

3. Hal Pollner

Registered