Majority Of Men Who Fought And Died So We All Have A Great Place To Live

Discussion in 'History & Geography' started by Dwight Ward, Aug 3, 2020.

1. Dwight Ward

Dwight Ward Veteran Member
    Registered

Lois Winters and Patsy Faye like this.
  2. Patsy Faye

Patsy Faye Supreme Member
    Registered

Interesting read . So many selfless people at this time
    Much respect and admiration for them all

Lois Winters likes this.
  3. Lois Winters

Lois Winters Veteran Member
    Registered

It was difficult to read the article as a box kept bouncing up and down wanting it to documented. Thus, I was able to more or less get the gist of it. As a nurse, I am aware from my history of nursing so many acts of courage by nurses and others for that matter in the Camps during WWII. When I was a nurse in the Air Force, all war essentially was over for the time being even though I am a Korean War Vet. We face extraordinary situations daily and try to rise to the occasion each time. WWII was a horrible example of what folks faced in concentration and prisoner of war camps in Europe and Asia. Kudos to the nurses who came through, and not all of them intact. One of my colleagues had been on the Bataan March and she was not quite the same, but one brave nurse I must say.

Beth Gallagher and Patsy Faye like this.
  4. Dwight Ward

Dwight Ward Veteran Member
    Registered

Simply amazing, Lois. Thanks for relating that.

Terry Coywin and Lois Winters like this.
  5. Hal Pollner

Hal Pollner Veteran Member
    Registered

It begins by asking the question "Oh say can you see?" Asking if the increasing light of dawn will show what we have had only brief glimpses of during the night of the bombardment from the rockets and bombs.

Then it asks if the flag was still waving: "Oh say does that Star-Spangled Banner yet wave?"

See? It's all one big question that Francis Scott Key has asked us, and which Judy answers with our magnificent 48-Star Flag!

Hal
    132 (2).jpg